(401) Unauthorized.:SmilingGoat.Syndication

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Apr 12, 2007 at 5:42 PM
Hello,

I am a bit new to Sharepoint, and I am having difficulty using this Web-part with an RSS feed I created. The feed is legal; I checked the RSS 2.0 spec. I believe the problem is that the feed is internal. It is a feed on our intranet. Here is the error message I get when I put the url in the FeedReader webpart:

"our internal url does not appear to be a valid RSS feed. If the feed is valid, please ensure your proxy server settings are correct if you use a proxy server.
Error returned from FeedReader: The remote server returned an error: (401) Unauthorized.:SmilingGoat.Syndication"

Can FeedReader use feeds that are not accessible to the outside world? If so, what do I need to do to fix this?

Thanks in advance

Tim
Coordinator
Apr 12, 2007 at 11:32 PM
Tim,

the FeedReader cannot access authentication-required feeds.
Apr 16, 2007 at 6:12 PM
Hi Tim,

Please pardon my ignorance. Is that because the feed is located on our intranet, even if the sharepoint site is also located within our private network?

Thanks again,

Tim
Coordinator
Apr 16, 2007 at 9:03 PM
That's right -- FeedReader doesn't accept any feed that requires authentication...the web part also does not pass authentication on to internal feeds (because of the windows double-hop issue) as it is actually the server sharepoint process requesting the feed.

tmcgilvreay wrote:
Hi Tim,

Please pardon my ignorance. Is that because the feed is located on our intranet, even if the sharepoint site is also located within our private network?

Thanks again,

Tim

Nov 15, 2007 at 10:25 AM
Tim -

I wanted to use FeedReader to aggregate 'My Site' blogs from the same WSS instance on our Intranet. i.e. FeedReader will be on the WSS home page showing the latest blogs.